What are the four Noble Truths


Buddhism is often seen as esoteric; especially by individuals who live outside of Asia. This is a shame because there is nothing exotic about Buddha’s philosophy.

The tenets of Buddhism are encapsulated in the Four Ordinary Foundations, or more commonly called the Four Noble Truths. They are simple to understand and provide a solid basis to live a better life.

The Four Ordinary Foundations

Life is suffering.

Many people see this truth and assume that Buddhism is focused on the hardships of living. This is not true. The meaning of this foundation is that suffering is a natural part of life. It is unavoidable. But, there is a reason for all of life’s suffering, and it is revealed in the Second Noble Truth.

Suffering is caused by desire.

Think about it. We as humans suffer because we want something we do not possess. Want to be more beautiful? You will suffer. Want more money? You will suffer. Ultimately we do not want to die, yet we know we will. This causes us, humans, all types of issues.

Mental anguish is created by our own desires, but since we create our own mental stress, we alone can instantly end it. But how?

End desire, end suffering.

Yes. It is that simple. Just refuse to allow yourself to want what you do not have. In theory, it is good, but how does one vanish desire from their minds; especially in today’s materialistic society? Does Buddhism provide a method to end desire? Yes, it does.

Follow the Eight Fold Path

What? Sounds a little new age? Well, it is not. The eight ways to end suffering are:

Right View: We should see things as they are, not how we or others want them to be. Sometimes, a cigar is just a cigar, after all.

Right Intention: To end suffering one needs to commit to abandoning negativity and to have a positive outlook on life, and others living things.

Right Speech: My mother always said, “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.” Buddha would have agreed with her.

Right Actions: Don’t do anything that you would not anyone to know. Avoid unpleasant actions, and instead concentrate on positive, helpful actions.

Right Livelihood: Earn your money honestly, without exploiting others.

Right Effort: Try. Try really, really hard.

Right Mindfulness: Avoid stereotypes and preconceived notions. Live each new minute, each new second without comparing it to the past, or concentrating on the future.

Right Concentration: When you do something, put all your effort, and energy into it. Do not be slacker.

Leave a Comment

Related Posts

Being in the Now Moment

God is the space between the words. It’s the space between the bars that holds the tiger. It’s the space between the notes that makes the music. This says so ... Read More

Karma and Grace

How do karma and grace relate to one another? Initially, it would seem that karma and grace are opposing principles in the universe. After all, karma is law, and grace ... Read More

Attention through Meditation

These days, ADD and ADHD run rampant in the United States. I, myself, have ADD but have recently found a bit of hope in the concept of meditation. Buddha taught ... Read More

The Arts of Zen Explained

The art forms associated with the practice of Zen Buddhism are a way of approaching the artisan’s role in the totality of their existence. To practice Zen is to achieve ... Read More

The Three Universal Characteristics in Buddhism

If and when practicing Buddhism, you will come across various principles grouped together. Examples are the: Four Noble Truths, Eightfold Path, Three Poisons (if you are studying Tibetan Buddhism), Ten ... Read More